Photo credit: Vicki DeLoach

There’s some good news and bad news on the donation drive we’re doing to collect transit passes to benefit refugee families resettled in the Seattle area.

The bad news: For the first time since the drive started back in September, we’ve fallen behind on the goal of collecting 50 transit passes by the end of the year. To date, people have donated 22 cards (44% of the way to the goal), and we’re now 55 days into the 100-day drive.

The good news: We have a great chance to make up some of that lost ground! To celebrate Thanksgiving, one generous donor has agreed to match any donations that come in between now and the end of November (that’s why I put matching Thanksgiving turkeys in the picture above – Thanksgiving matching – get it?).

So, if you’ve been thinking about donating at some point, now would be a really good time to double the impact of your donation.

Again, you can donate in one of two ways:

(1) Send any amount of money via PayPal (caroleturley@ucla.edu). If you go this route, please send me an email with your address as well so I can make sure you’ll get a tax receipt at the end of the drive.

(2) Follow the instructions here to purchase a $50 transit pass and have it sent to my P.O. Box. The pass will cost $55: $5 for the card itself, and $50 in pre-loaded transit fares. If you go this route, I will see your address when the card arrives, but not your name. If you don’t know me personally, or think I might not recognize your address, it would be great if you could email me to let me know you’ve donated so I can make sure you get a tax receipt.

To make sure your donation gets matched, send it before the end of November.

Thanks to all those who have donated so far!

